May 05 - 07 2014, 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

2014 ASA Legislative Conference



March 28, 2014

FDA Update on the Shortage of Normal Saline


FDA Update on the Shortage of Normal Saline

March 18, 2014

FDA MedWatch - Merit Medical Systems, Custom Procedural Trays/Kits Containing 1 percent Lidocaine HCl Injection, 10mg/mL: Recall - Particulates Found in Hospira supplied Lidocaine


Merit Medical Systems Custom Procedural Trays Kits Recall Particulates Found in Hospira Lidocaine

March 18, 2014

McKesson Technologies Anesthesia Care: Recall - Patient Case Data May Not Match Patient Data


McKesson Technologies Anesthesia Care Recall Patient Case Data May Not Match Patient Data



Add this product to your shopping cart

Self Education and Evaluation (SEE) Program

SKU: 30701-14CE

... Read more »

Single Copies, Member Price: $360

ASA Member Recognized for Continuous Contributions to Patient Safety

Chicago — (January 17, 2011) 

ASA patient safety pioneer and long-time member, John H. Eichhorn, M.D., has been selected by the National Quality Forum (NQF) and the Joint Commission as the 2010 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award recipient.

This award comes at an especially exciting time for patient safety. Not only is ASA President Dr. Mark A. Warner putting the spotlight on patient safety in his presidential term, the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation (APSF) and the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) are also celebrating their 25th Anniversaries.

Dr. Eichhorn, of the University of Kentucky, Lexington, is being recognized for his contributions which have led to dramatic and sustained reductions in catastrophic intra-operative anesthesia accidents. He is currently a consultant to the Executive Committee of the APSF where he and other dedicated ASA members are committed to continually improving the safety of patients during anesthesia care by encouraging and conducting safety research and education; patient safety programs and campaigns and the national and international exchange of information and ideas.

Anesthesiology was the first medical specialty to champion patient safety as a specific focus and the APSF has been the leader in the proactive, successful efforts to dramatically improve the safety of anesthesia administration and reduce adverse events.

Dr. Eichhorn will be presented with the award in February 2011 at NQF’s Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. An early 2011 issue of The Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety will also feature his achievements.

A complete list of past Eisenberg Award winners is available here.


Founded in 1905, the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) is an educational, research and scientific society with more than 50,000 members organized to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology. ASA is committed to ensuring that physician anesthesiologists evaluate and supervise the medical care of patients before, during, and after surgery to provide the highest quality and safest care that every patient deserves.

For more information on the field of anesthesiology, visit the American Society of Anesthesiologists online at asahq.org. To learn more about the role physician anesthesiologists play in ensuring patient safety, visit asahq.org/WhenSecondsCount. Join the ANESTHESIOLOGYTM 2013 social conversation today. Like ASA on Facebook, follow ASALifeline on Twitter and use the hashtag #ANES2013.



American Society of Anesthesiologists